RASC, Toronto Centre Organization

The RASC, Toronto Centre is an organization made possible by many volunteers. Below is an overview of our Council and Committees. Besides this group there many more volunteers who help out at star gazing events, talks and maintain our observatories! About a quarter of our membership helps with volunteering in some form.

Note on contacting: You can use the contact form on this site to connect with the Centre. Members may interested in booking a telescope may use the telescope loan form. Members interested in booking a stay at the CAO may use the CAO reservation form. If you are looking to contact someone specific, you can refer to the list below.



  • Honorary President (1-year term): Dr. Roberto Abraham
  • President (2nd of 2-year term): Tom Luton, president@rascto.ca
  • 1st Vice-President (2nd 2-year term): A.W. Scott Masterton, vp-finance@rascto.ca
  • 2nd Vice-President (2nd of 2-year term): Dr. Elaina Hyde, vp-programme@rascto.ca
  • Treasurer (3rd of 3-year term): Adrian Aberdeen, treasurer@rascto.ca
  • Secretary (1st of 3-year term): Lucy Winnicki, secretary@rascto.ca
  • Recorder (2nd of 3-year term): Marc Teitelbaum, recorder@rascto.ca
  • 1st Past President (2nd of 2-year term): Dr. B. Ralph Chou
  • 2nd Past President (2nd of 2-year term): M. Tony Horvatin



  • Honorary Councillor: Dietmar Kupke (1-year term)
  • Retiring 2022: Charles Darrow, Diana Salerno, Charles Yung
  • Retiring 2023: Doug Carman, Tanya Oleksuik, Frank Dempsey
  • Retiring 2024: Dr. Bhairava Shankar, Kirsten Vanstone, Ed Treijis


Members and volunteers


Talks, Observing and Outreach


Observatory and property


Internal and External communication


Organization and Strategy


Period: 2021 to 2022.
Notice of Annual Meeting 2021 issued on 28 October 2021.
Slate ratified at the Annual Meeting of 17 November 2021.
Committees appointments are generally set in December or January.
RASC TC Fiscal Year: 1 October to 30 September.