Skip to main content

The RASC, Toronto Centre is an organization made possible by many volunteers. Below is an overview of our Council and Committees. Besides this group there many more volunteers who help out at star gazing events, and talks and maintain our observatories! About a quarter of our membership helps with volunteering in some form.

Note on contacting: You can use the contact form on this site to connect with the Centre. Members may be interested in booking a telescope may use the telescope loan form. Members interested in booking a stay at the CAO may use the CAO reservation form. If you are looking to contact someone specific, you can refer to the list below.


  • Honorary President (1-year term): Dr. Roberto Abraham
  • President (1st of 2-year term): Tom Luton,
  • 1st Vice-President (1st of 2-year term): A.W. Scott Masterton,
  • 2nd Vice-President (1st of 2-year term): Dr. Elaina Hyde,
  • Treasurer (1st of 3-year term): Denis Grey,
  • Secretary (2nd of 3-year term): Lucy Winnicki,
  • Recorder (3rd of 3-year term): Marc Teitelbaum,
  • 1st Past President (1st of 2-year term): Dr. B. Ralph Chou
  • 2nd Past President (1st of 2-year term): M. Tony Horvatin


  • Honorary Councilor: Dietmar Kupke (1-year term)
  • Retiring 2023: Doug Carman, Tanya Oleksuik, Frank Dempsey
  • Retiring 2024: Reza Mohamad, Kirsten Vanstone, Ed Treijis
  • Retiring 2025: Charles Darrow, Diana Salerno, Charles Yung

Membership and Volunteers

Talks, observing, and Outreach

Observatory and Property

Internal and External Communication

Organization and Strategy


Period: 2022 to 2023.
Notice of Annual Meeting 2022 issued on November 7, 2022.
Slate ratified at the Annual Meeting of December 7, 2022.
Committee appointments are generally set in December or January.
RASC TC Fiscal Year: 1 October to 30 September.