In the sky

Sunday, September 13, 2015
The moon is between us and the sun. Without the moon in the sky at night, deep sky objects are easier to observe.
Wednesday, September 23, 2015

The earth's axis is perpendicular to its orbit with the North pole tipping away form the sun.

Monday, October 12, 2015
The moon is between us and the sun. Without the moon in the sky at night, deep sky objects are easier to observe.
Monday, December 21, 2015
Sept 27 2015 Total Lunar Eclipse data adapted from F. Espanek
Sunday, September 27, 2015 - 8:15pm to Monday, September 28, 2015 - 1:15am
On the evening of September 27, 2015, residents of the GTA and beyond will be able to observe a Total Lunar Eclipse during a so-called Supermoon.
Sunday, September 27, 2015 - 8:30pm to 11:30pm

UPDATE: WE HAVE 60% CLEAR SKIES AT THE CAO THIS EVENING AND ARE "GO" FOR LUNAR ECLIPSE VIEWING.  You're invited to the Total Lunar Eclipse Viewing Party at the E. C. Carr Astronomical Observatory.

NASA Logo
Friday, April 11, 2014 to Sunday, April 13, 2014

On April 11–13th, developers, makers, engineers and entrepreneurs will take on 25 NASA-designed challenges, creating solutions that range from silly to serious, and fantastical to feasible.

Jupiter clouds and red dot by NASA/JPL - Cassini mission
Sunday, January 5, 2014

Jupiter is closest to earth for the year, giving the best views in a telescope.

Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Uranus is closest to earth for the year, giving the best views in a telescope.

Pages