In the sky

Thursday, October 23, 2014

The moon is between us and the sun. Without the moon in the sky at night, deep sky objects are easier to observe.

Saturday, June 7, 2014
Both Mars and the Moon are in the constellation Virgo. Saturn is close by as well. Easily viewed without a telescope, even from the city.
Wednesday, January 1, 2014 to Sunday, January 5, 2014
Saturday, November 22, 2014

The moon is between us and the sun. Without the moon in the sky at night, deep sky objects are easier to observe.

Sunday, November 3, 2013

This rare occurance will begin on the east coast of the United States and move east across the Atlantic towards central Africa. Depending on where you are in the eclipse's path, it will appear as a total or annular eclipse.

2012 Geminid Meteor Shower, by Bill Longo, RASC Member
Sunday, October 20, 2013 to Thursday, October 24, 2013

Look to the east after midnight from a dark location and you should be able to catch up to 20 meteors per hour at its peak. The shower is typically irregular, so if you want a good show it could happen any morning between Octover 20-24.

2012 Lunar Eclipse, by Paul Mortfield, RASC Member
Friday, October 18, 2013

Visible throughout most of the world, the moon will pass into the Earth's penumbra. The Moon's surface will darken noticably as this occurs.

Uranus (Wikipedia)
Thursday, October 3, 2013

Uranus will be at its closest approach to the Earth, its face fully illuminated by the Sun. This is the best chance to view or photograph the blue-green planet, though you'll need a powerful scope to resolve the finer details.

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

The big blue planet will be at its closest approach to the Earth, it's face fully illuminated by the Sun. This is the best time to view or photograph Neptune, though you'll need a fairly powerful telescope to resolve major details.

2012 Perseid Meteor Shower, by Bill Longo, RASC Member
Monday, August 12, 2013 to Tuesday, August 13, 2013

The Perseids are always a spectacular show, with up to 60 meteors an hour visible at its peak. Look to the constellation Perseus under dark skies, and you'll be guaranteed an awesome show.

Pages