Observing

Millennium Square
Friday, September 30, 2022 - 6:00pm to 11:00pm

Join us and our sponsor, Durham Skies, for an evening of free public stargazing along the north shore of Lake Ontario at Millennium Square.

Travelling to the Stars
Saturday, October 1, 2022 - 2:30pm to 3:30pm
Is the human body built for Mars? Will interstellar travel ever be possible? What can studies on Earth and in space tell us about planetary exploration?
City Star Party
Monday, October 3, 2022 - 8:00pm to 11:00pm

Hover above the Moon like an astronaut and get eye-to-eye with the planets. Find colourful stars, star clusters, bright nebulae and even another galaxy.

Riverwood Astronomy Night
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm

Explore the universe with members of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada. Telescopes will be set up to provide stellar views of the Moon, the planets and more.

A Haunted Herschel Halloween
Monday, October 31, 2022 - 9:00pm to 11:59pm
The lecture is followed by a fun event number two, a Halloween-themed tour of the Allan I. Carswell observatory 'Haunted Telescope' and viewing session of Uranus, discovered by Sir William Herschel in 1781.
City Star Party
Tuesday, November 1, 2022 - 8:00pm to 11:00pm

Hover above the Moon like an astronaut and get eye-to-eye with the planets. Find colourful stars, star clusters, bright nebulae and even another galaxy.

The Growth Spurt of the Early Universe
Thursday, November 3, 2022 - 8:00pm to 10:00pm

Join us for the November AstroTours! The event is free and no pre-registration is required!

City Star Party
Monday, November 28, 2022 to Thursday, December 1, 2022

Hover above the Moon like an astronaut and get eye-to-eye with the planets. Find colourful stars, star clusters, bright nebulae and even another galaxy.

Millennium Square
Friday, October 23, 2020 - 6:00pm to 11:00pm

Everyone is invited to join us and Durham Skies for stargazing at the edge of Lake Ontario.

Millennium Square
Friday, September 25, 2020 - 6:00pm to 11:00pm

Everyone is invited to join us and Durham Skies for stargazing at the edge of Lake Ontario.

Pages