Events

Ray Jayawardhana
Monday, February 3, 2014 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm

A leading astrophysicist explains the pervasive, invisible particles key to understanding our cosmos.

Every second of day and night, many trillions of neutrinos pass through your body.

Monday, February 3, 2014 to Thursday, February 6, 2014

Hover above the moon like an astronaut and get eye-to-eye with the planets. Find colourful stars, star clusters, bright nebulae and even another galaxy.

Saturday, February 1, 2014 - 10:00am to 12:00pm

Join us at the Ontario Science Centre for our monthly Solar Observing on the TelusScape observing pad. This is the area in front of the Science Centre's entrance. We use specialized telescopes that are safe to aim at the Sun.

Thursday, January 30, 2014
The moon is between us and the sun. Withouth the moon in the sky at night, deep sky objects are easier to observe.
Monday, January 27, 2014 to Thursday, January 30, 2014

See the milky way and galaxies with the unaided eye. Point your telescope to find the many dim deep space objects that sprinkle the sky. Away from Toronto's light pollution, there is so much to see.

David Dunlap Observatory main dome at night, outside (Bill Longo)
Saturday, January 25, 2014 - 6:00pm to 10:00pm

Tonight's theme is Our Galactic Neighbours.

asx_11_in_to_the_cosmos
Friday, January 24, 2014 - 7:00pm to 10:00pm

This is the 11th annual symposium organized by ASX. This event aims to educate the public on some aspects of cosmology, and encourage students and the public to get informed and involved in the exciting projects and discoveries in cosmology.

Recreational Astronomy Meeting
Wednesday, January 22, 2014 - 7:00pm to 9:30pm

Join us for our monthly recreational astronomy night meeting at the Ontario Science Centre.

Monday, January 20, 2014 to Wednesday, January 29, 2014
Measuring light pollution of your sky, See: www.globeatnight.org
Milky Way Galaxy - You are here
Tuesday, January 14, 2014 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm

Our Cosmic Address

Comet ISON by Adam Block/Mount Lemmon SkyCenter/University of Arizona
Wednesday, January 8, 2014 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm

The Legacy of Comet ISON by Paul Delaney

City Star Party
Monday, January 6, 2014 to Thursday, January 9, 2014

Hover above the moon like an astronaut and get eye-to-eye with the planets. Find colourful stars, star clusters, bright nebulae and even another galaxy.

Jupiter clouds and red dot by NASA/JPL - Cassini mission
Sunday, January 5, 2014

Jupiter is closest to earth for the year, giving the best views in a telescope.

Saturday, January 4, 2014 - 10:00am to 12:00pm

Join us at the Ontario Science Centre for our monthly Solar Observing on the TelusScape observing pad. This is the area in front of the Science Centre's entrance. We use specialized telescopes that are safe to aim at the Sun.

Wednesday, January 1, 2014
The moon is between us and the sun. Withouth the moon in the sky at night, deep sky objects are easier to observe.
Wednesday, January 1, 2014 to Sunday, January 5, 2014
Recreational Astronomy Meeting
Wednesday, December 11, 2013 - 7:00pm to 9:30pm

Join us for our monthly recreational astronomy night meeting at the Ontario Science Centre.

RASC City Star Party @ Bayview Village
Monday, December 9, 2013 to Friday, December 13, 2013

Want to see the rings of Saturn? What about bright nebulae or galaxies? Our monthly City Star Party is the perfect place to catch the views within the city. Looking to buy a new scope?

Saturday, December 7, 2013 - 10:00am to 12:00pm

Join us at the Ontario Science Centre for our monthly Solar Observing on the TelusScape observing pad. We meet the first Saturday of every month with our specialized telescopes that are safe to aim at the Sun.

Thursday, December 5, 2013 - 8:00pm

Graduate student KelleyLepo will be presenting about "History of Comets". Comets are rocky, icy visitors from the outer Solar System that develop spectacular tails when they near the Sun.

dark_sky_star_party.jpg
Monday, December 2, 2013 to Friday, December 6, 2013

Want to learn to image? Want to see galaxies and the milky way naked eye? Want to do it less than an hour from Toronto? Then join us for our monthly Dark Sky Star Party at the Long Sault Conservation area.

Dr. Paola Rodriguez Hidalgo York University & the University of Toronto
Wednesday, November 27, 2013 - 7:00pm to 9:30pm

Understanding Quasars
By: Dr. Paola Rodriguez Hidalgo - York University & the University of Toronto

David Dunlap Observatory main dome at night, inside (Bill Longo)
Tuesday, November 26, 2013 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm

A good description of the First Light program is on this page. This week's topics are: Astrophotography and Using Planetarium Software. 

Wednesday, November 20, 2013 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm

New Observers to Visual Astronomy (NOVA) is an 8-week introductory course that is designed to show the novice astronomer the wonders of the night sky and how to enjoy them. No experience required. A telescope is not required.

David Dunlap Observatory main dome at night, inside (Bill Longo)
Tuesday, November 19, 2013 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm

A good description of the First Light program is on this page.

David Dunlap Observatory main dome at night, inside (Bill Longo)
Saturday, November 16, 2013 - 5:30pm to 10:00pm

One of the benefits of membership in the RASC Toronto Centre is access to specially arranged Members Nights at the David Dunlap Observatory in Richmond Hill.

Recreational Astronomy Meeting
Wednesday, November 13, 2013 - 7:00pm to 9:30pm
Join us for our monthly recreational astronomy night meeting at the Ontario Science Centre. This is where our members get to show their latest projects, or give tutorials and tips on just about everything to do with Astronomy. Talks start at 7:30 socializing starts at 7:00.
Wednesday, November 13, 2013 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm

New Observers to Visual Astronomy (NOVA) is an 8-week introductory course that is designed to show the novice astronomer the wonders of the night sky and how to enjoy them. No experience required. A telescope is not required.

David Dunlap Observatory main dome at night, inside (Bill Longo)
Tuesday, November 12, 2013 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm

A good description of the First Light program is on this 

RASC City Star Party @ Bayview Village
Monday, November 11, 2013 to Friday, November 15, 2013

Want to see the rings of Saturn? What about bright nebulae or galaxies? Our monthly City Star Party is the perfect place to catch the views within the city. Looking to buy a new scope?

Pages