Events

SkyNews: Subs and Stars
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 - 8:00pm to 9:00pm

Trying to get started in astroimage editing, but not sure where to begin? Join us for Subs and Stars, an eight-part instructional online series that teaches people how astrophotos are built and edited.

Ask an Astronomer
Sunday, September 19, 2021 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm

Explore the Universe - from the comfort of your home!

Astronomy Speaker's Night
Friday, September 17, 2021 - 8:30pm to 10:00pm

Join us, from the comfort of your home! This program will feature live-stream views from the DDO's 74-Inch telescope (Weather permitting). Explore breaking news from space and current research into what lies beyond our home planet!

The Insider's Guide to the Galaxy
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 - 3:30pm to 5:00pm

Join us online to learn basic astronomy that you can do on your own from your backyard!

Sunday Sungazing
Sunday, September 12, 2021 - 12:30pm to 1:00pm
Safely observe the Sun with us, from the comfort of your home! During these family-friendly sessions, a DDO Astronomer will answer your questions about our closest star: the Sun!
Planet Party!
Saturday, September 11, 2021 - 8:30pm to 10:30pm
Watch the recorded video: https://youtu.be/MR8CTh-mwSo
RAN ONLINE - September 08, 2021
Wednesday, September 8, 2021 - 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Watch the recorded video: https://youtu.be/OtcXETzmLN8
ASX Star Talk: Pursuing multiple lines of enquiry into cosmic dawn and cosmic noon
Wednesday, August 25, 2021 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm
Curious about cosmology? Catch the ASX’s next Star Talk with postdoctoral researcher Dr. Dongwoo Chung on August 25!
Sunday Sungazing
Sunday, August 22, 2021 - 12:30pm to 1:00pm
Safely observe the Sun with us, from the comfort of your home! During these family-friendly sessions, a DDO Astronomer will answer your questions about our closest star: the Sun!
1M Anniversary Teletube
Wednesday, August 18, 2021 - 7:30pm to 9:00pm
Announcing another Allan I. Carswell Observatory Special Event! The 1m Telescope Anniversary!
The Insider's Guide to the Galaxy
Tuesday, August 17, 2021 - 3:30pm to 5:00pm

Join us online to learn basic astronomy that you can do on your own from your backyard!

Up in the Sky
Friday, August 13, 2021 - 9:30pm to 11:00pm

Join us, from the comfort of your home! This program provides an illustrated one-hour presentation and discussion about what exciting celestial events to look for each season.

Perseids Meteor Shower
Thursday, August 12, 2021 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm
Watch the recorded video: https://youtu.be/2hvqrmzzDtg
Meteors & Meteorites
Wednesday, August 11, 2021 - 2:00pm to 2:45pm

Find out what a meteor is and what causes a meteor shower. Discover the different types of meteorites and get tips to identify them. Then use your new knowledge of space rocks to go searching for meteorites among the Earth rocks.

Astro Trivia Night
Thursday, August 5, 2021 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm

We hope you're staying sharp this summer, space lovers! Because we're bringing you another Astro Trivia Night.

RAN ONLINE - August 4, 2021
Wednesday, August 4, 2021 - 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Watch the recorded video: https://youtu.be/z33Be3H1Ons
Among Us
Wednesday, July 28, 2021 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
Watch the recorded video: https://youtu.be/8rmANPW8kak
ASX - Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence
Wednesday, July 28, 2021 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm

Catch our upcoming Star Talk with post-doctoral researcher Dr. Cherry Ng.

Ask an Astronomer
Sunday, July 25, 2021 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm

Explore the Universe - from the comfort of your home!

Elite Dangerous
Wednesday, July 21, 2021 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
Watch the recorded video: https://youtu.be/s7glaOuGsSY
The Insider's Guide to the Galaxy
Tuesday, July 20, 2021 - 3:30pm to 5:00pm

Join us online to learn basic astronomy that you can do on your own from your backyard!

Up in the Sky July 16
Friday, July 16, 2021 - 9:30pm to 11:00pm

Join us, from the comfort of your home! This program provides an illustrated one-hour presentation and discussion about what exciting celestial events to look for each season.

Out of Space
Wednesday, July 14, 2021 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
Watch the recorded video: https://youtu.be/7brjjmJF7-U
Astronomy Cafe
Monday, July 12, 2021 - 10:30pm to 11:30pm
Watch the recorded video: https://youtu.be/KArBL3dsNl8
Sunday Sungazing July 11
Sunday, July 11, 2021 - 12:30pm to 1:00pm
Safely observe the Sun with us, from the comfort of your home! During these family-friendly sessions, a DDO Astronomer will answer your questions about our closest star: the Sun!
RAN ONLINE - July 07, 2021
Wednesday, July 7, 2021 - 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Watch the recorded video: https://youtu.be/x5DsnFx6Hlg

Pages