UofT Physics: 2019 H.L. Welsh Lectures in Physics

Welsh Poster 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019 - 1:00pm to 4:00pm

An annual physics event since 1975!

The Welsh Lectures in Physics have been held annually since 1975 in honour of H.L. Welsh, a distinguished former faculty member in the Physics Department. They are the major public event in the life of the Department of Physics and are intended to celebrate discoveries in physics and their wider impact. They are intended to be broadly accessible to an audience drawn from across the university, other academic institutions and the interested public.

1:00pm - Prof. Anny Cazenave, LEGOS, Toulouse, France & ISSI, Bern, Switzerland
Climate Change, Ocean Warming, Land Ice Melt and Sea Level Rise

Prof. Anny Cazenave is a French space geodesist and one of the pioneers in satellite altimetry. She works for the French space agency CNES and has been deputy director of the Laboratoire d'Etudes en Geophysique et Oceanographie Spatiale (LEGOS) at Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées in Toulouse since 1996. Since 2013, she is director of Earth sciences at the International Space Sciences institute (ISSI), in Bern (Switzerland).

2:15pm - Coffee Break

2:45pm - Prof. Donna Strickland, University of Waterloo, 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics 
Generating High-Intensity Ultrashort Optical Pulses

Donna Strickland is a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Waterloo. Professor Strickland is one of the recipients of the Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 for developing chirped pulse amplification with Gérard Mourou, her PhD supervisor at the time. They published this Nobel-winning research in 1985 when Strickland was a PhD student at the University of Rochester in New York state. Together they paved the way toward the most intense laser pulses ever created. The research has several applications today in industry and medicine — including the cutting of a patient’s cornea in laser eye surgery, and the machining of small glass parts for use in cell phones.

Who can attend: Everyone
Fee: Free
Reservations: Not required
Organized by: University of Toronto Department of Physics
Location: Earth Sciences Centre (5 Bancroft Avenue and 33 Willcocks Street, Room ES1050, University of Toronto)