In the sky

Messier Marathon season

Saturday, March 25, 2017 to Saturday, April 1, 2017

Vernal Equinox

Monday, March 20, 2017

Day and night are equally long

Total Solar Eclipse

Total solar eclipse

Monday, August 21, 2017

As seen from the Earth, a solar eclipse is a type of eclipse that occurs when the Moon passes between the Sun and Earth, and the Moon fully or partially blocks ("occults") the Sun.

Summer Solstice

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

This is the first day of summer in the northern hemisphere, and the first day of winter in the southern hemisphere. The Sun will have reached its northernmost position in the sky, with the north pole tilting towards the sun.

Partial lunar eclipse

Monday, August 7, 2017

Penumbral lunar eclipse

Saturday, February 11, 2017

New Moon

New Moon - 1:30am EST

Monday, December 18, 2017

The moon is between us and the sun. Without the moon in the sky at night, deep sky objects are easier to observe.

New Moon

New Moon - 6:42am EST

Saturday, November 18, 2017

The moon is between us and the sun. Without the moon in the sky at night, deep sky objects are easier to observe.

New Moon

New Moon - 3:12pm EDT

Thursday, October 19, 2017

The moon is between us and the sun. Without the moon in the sky at night, deep sky objects are easier to observe.

New Moon

New Moon - 1:30am EDT

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

The moon is between us and the sun. Without the moon in the sky at night, deep sky objects are easier to observe.

Pages