Events

RASC General Assembly 2022
Friday, June 24, 2022 to Monday, June 27, 2022

Join us for The Royal Astronomical Society of Canada's 2022 General Assembly! Hosted by The RASC National Office, the four-day event is jam-packed with exciting events and fun for the entire family.

Sunday Sungazing
Sunday, June 19, 2022 - 12:30pm to 1:00pm
Safely observe the Sun with us, from the comfort of your home! During these family-friendly sessions, a DDO Astronomer will answer your questions about our closest star: the Sun!
Up in the Sky
Friday, June 17, 2022 - 9:30pm to 11:00pm

Join us, from the comfort of your home! This program provides an illustrated one-hour presentation and discussion about what exciting celestial events to look for each season.

Ask an Astronomer
Sunday, June 12, 2022 - 11:00am to 12:00pm

Explore the Universe - from the comfort of your home!

Astronomy Speaker's Night - What Can We Learn from Gravitational Waves?
Saturday, June 11, 2022 - 9:00pm to 10:30pm

Speaker: Dr. Jess McIver

Thursday, June 9, 2022 - 9:00pm to 10:30pm

This event has been cancelled due to bad weather.

Astro Trivia Night!
Tuesday, June 7, 2022 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
The best kind of trivia is astronomy trivia!
The Insider's Guide to the Galaxy
Tuesday, June 7, 2022 - 3:30pm to 5:00pm
Summer is globular cluster season in Canada!
Millennium Square
Saturday, June 4, 2022 - 7:00pm to 11:59pm

Join us and our sponsor, Durham Skies, for an evening of free public stargazing along the north shore of Lake Ontario at Millennium Square.

Twists and Turns while Searching for Strange Stars
Thursday, June 2, 2022 - 8:00pm to 10:00pm

Join us for our first in person AstroTours in two years! The event will feature a talk by Anna O'Grady about searching for strange stars!

RAN ONLINE - June 01, 2022
Wednesday, June 1, 2022 - 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Watch the recorded video: https://youtu.be/To1VHoXsV9A
Up in the Sky
Friday, May 20, 2022 - 9:00pm to 10:30pm

Join us, from the comfort of your home! This program provides an illustrated one-hour presentation and discussion about what exciting celestial events to look for each season.

Katie Mack
Wednesday, May 18, 2022 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Join the Waterloo Centre for Astrophysics for a public lecture (offered in-person and online) as Dr. Katie Mack explores "Physics at the End of the Universe."
SkyNews: Subs and Stars
Tuesday, May 17, 2022 - 8:00pm to 9:00pm
Register now for the final episode of Subs and Stars, where we’ll be looking at the May 2022 data from the SkyNews Astroimage Editing Contest.
Ask an Astronomer
Sunday, May 15, 2022 - 11:00am to 12:00pm

Explore the Universe - from the comfort of your home!

Tuesday, May 10, 2022 - 8:30pm to 10:00pm

Explore the universe with members of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada. Telescopes will be set up to provide stellar views of the Moon, the planets and more.

Sunday Sungazing
Sunday, May 8, 2022 - 12:30pm to 1:00pm
Safely observe the Sun with us, from the comfort of your home! During these family-friendly sessions, a DDO Astronomer will answer your questions about our closest star: the Sun!
Shooting for the Moon
Saturday, May 7, 2022 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Celebrate humanity’s return to the Moon and International Astronomy Day with the RASC!
Millennium Square
Saturday, May 7, 2022 - 6:00pm to 11:00pm

Join us and our sponsor, Durham Skies, for an evening of free public stargazing along the north shore of Lake Ontario at Millennium Square.

The Birth of Planetary Systems
Thursday, May 5, 2022 - 8:00pm to 10:00pm
Join us for the May AstroTour! Fergus Horrobin will be talking about how stars and planetary systems around them form.
RAN ONLINE - May 04, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022 - 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Watch the recorded video: https://youtu.be/CqOzVPvSc7k
Professor Brian Cox
Wednesday, May 4, 2022 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
A few seats still available
Professor Brian Cox
Tuesday, May 3, 2022 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
A few seats still available
The Insider's Guide to the Galaxy
Tuesday, April 26, 2022 - 3:30pm to 5:00pm
We'll review the cultures that have seen a lion in the stars of Leo, highlight the astrophysics and naming of its major stars, point out other interesting variable stars, double stars, and one referenced in Star Trek!
Sunday Sungazing
Sunday, April 24, 2022 - 12:30pm to 1:00pm
Safely observe the Sun with us, from the comfort of your home! During these family-friendly sessions, a DDO Astronomer will answer your questions about our closest star: the Sun!

Pages