Events

Our Musical Universe

UofT Planetarium: Our Musical Universe (SOLD OUT)

Friday, February 23, 2018 -
7:00pm to 10:15pm
What is the sound of a twinkling star? Can planets keep a beat? How loud was the big bang?
Pierre Chastenay

RCIS: 2017 Fleming Medal Presentation and Lecture with Dr. Pierre Chastenay

Tuesday, February 27, 2018 -
7:30pm to 9:30pm

Meet one of Québec's most celebrated science communicators, Dr. Pierre Chastenay.

Science on Tap Hamilton

McMaster: Science on Tap Hamilton

Wednesday, February 28, 2018 -
7:00pm to 10:30pm

Join scientists from McMaster University’s Physics and Astronomy Department for an entertaining night filled with scientific discussion, trivia, and beer.

ASX - Exploring Space From Earth

ASX Star Talk: Exploring Space from Earth with Dr. Marianne Mader

Wednesday, February 28, 2018 -
7:00pm to 9:00pm
Learn how planetary scientists explore other planets here on Earth, through comparative planetology and meteoritics, and how we are preparing for future space missions by conducting terrestrial analogue missions.
Grand Tour of the Cosmos

UofT Planetarium: Grand Tour of the Cosmos (SOLD OUT)

Friday, March 2, 2018 -
7:00pm to 10:15pm

Showtimes: 7:00pm, 8:10pm, 9:15pm

Our Musical Universe

UofT Planetarium: Our Musical Universe

Saturday, March 3, 2018 -
7:00pm to 10:15pm
What is the sound of a twinkling star? Can planets keep a beat? How loud was the big bang?
John Percy

Pape/Danforth Library: Misconceptions about the Universe: From Everyday Life to the Birth of the Universe

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 -
6:30pm to 8:00pm

People have deeply-held misconceptions about the most basic of astronomical topics, such as the cause of the seasons.

Alan Jackson

RASC Mississauga: Making The Moon

Friday, March 9, 2018 -
8:00pm to 10:00pm

The Moon is an important part of our everyday lives. It regulates the tides and stabilizes the tilt of Earth's rotation axis, playing an important role in making our planet the place it is today.

Millennium Square

Millennium Square Stargazing Night

Saturday, March 24, 2018 -
6:00pm to 11:00pm

Everyone is invited to join us and Durham Skies on Saturday, March 24 for stargazing at the edge of Lake Ontario.

Earth Hour

Earth Hour

Saturday, March 24, 2018 -
8:30pm to 9:30pm
Rob Moore

Perimeter Institute: A Material World – Building a Future from the Atoms Up

Wednesday, April 4, 2018 -
7:00pm to 8:30pm

From the Stone Age to the Silicon Age, nothing has had a more profound influence on the world than our understanding of the materials around us.

Adam Muzzin

RASC Mississauga: The Most Distant Galaxies in the Universe

Friday, April 6, 2018 -
8:00pm to 10:00pm

The combined power of infrared observatories both in space and from the ground has allowed us to observe extraordinarily distant galaxies.

John Percy

S. Walter Stewart Library: Toronto's Astronomical Heritage

Wednesday, April 18, 2018 -
6:30pm to 7:30pm
In this profusely-illustrated, non-technical presentation, you will discover how Toronto became a "centre of the universe" for astronomical research, education, and outreach, in parallel with the growth of our city and country, from 1840 to the present.
Millennium Square

Millennium Square Stargazing Night

Friday, April 20, 2018 -
6:00pm to 11:00pm

Everyone is invited to join us and Durham Skies on April 20 for stargazing at the edge of Lake Ontario.

International Astronomy Day

Saturday, April 21, 2018
NEAF show floor

North-East Astronomy Forum

Saturday, April 21, 2018 to Sunday, April 22, 2018

OSC Star Party - International Astronomy Day

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Details to be announced

Texas Star Party

Sunday, May 6, 2018 to Saturday, May 12, 2018

RASC Mississauga: Earth's Battered Moon

Friday, May 11, 2018 -
8:00pm to 10:00pm

Just like the Earth, the Moon is about 4.5 billion years old. It has been and continues to be constantly bombarded by meteorites. Some suggest that this rate of bombardment has remained constant in the past couple of billion years.

Science Rendezvous

Science Rendezvous 2018

Saturday, May 12, 2018
Millennium Square

Millennium Square Stargazing Night

Friday, May 18, 2018 -
6:00pm to 11:00pm

Everyone is invited to join us and Durham Skies on May 18 for stargazing at the edge of Lake Ontario.

Riverside Telescope Makers' Conference

RTMC Astronomy Expo

Thursday, May 24, 2018 to Monday, May 28, 2018
Millennium Square

Millennium Square Stargazing Night

Friday, June 22, 2018 -
6:00pm to 11:00pm

Everyone is invited to join us and Durham Skies on June 22 for stargazing at the edge of Lake Ontario.

OSC Star Party

Saturday, June 23, 2018

Details to be announced

RASC Seal

2018 RASC General Assembly in Calgary

Thursday, June 28, 2018 to Tuesday, July 3, 2018
CPSX Space Camp

Western: Summer Space Camp 2018

Tuesday, July 3, 2018
In the summer months of July and August, the Centre for Planetary Science & Exploration (CPSX) at Western University offers a Space Science and Technology themed summer camp for children ages 9 to 11.
ALCON 2018

ALCON 2018

Wednesday, July 11, 2018 to Saturday, July 14, 2018
Millennium Square

Millennium Square Stargazing Night

Friday, July 20, 2018 -
6:00pm to 11:00pm

Everyone is invited to join us and Durham Skies on July 20 for stargazing at the edge of Lake Ontario.

OSC Star Party - MarsFest 2.0

Friday, July 27, 2018

Details to be announced

International Astronomical Youth Camp

International Astronomical Youth Camp

Sunday, July 29, 2018

The International Astronomical Youth Camp (IAYC) is a three-week-long summer camp in the UK aiming to promote knowledge of astronomy and related sciences in a unique international atmosphere.

Pages