Homepage Banner Area

News

Star Trails by Steve McKinney

Dark Sky Star Party (first clear night: Monday, Tuesday or Thursday)

Monday, January 23, 2017 to Thursday, January 26, 2017

See the milky way and galaxies with the unaided eye. Point your telescope to find the many dim deep space objects that sprinkle the sky. Away from Toronto's light polution, there is so much to see.

Ontario Science Centre at Night

Recreational Astronomy Night

Wednesday, January 25, 2017 -
7:30pm to 9:30pm

Join us for our monthly recreational astronomy night meeting. This is where our members get to show their latest projects, or give tutorials and tips on just about everything to do with Astronomy.

ASX Symposium: What Ifs: Is the Impossible, Possible?

ASX Symposium: What Ifs: Is the Impossible, Possible?

Friday, January 27, 2017 -
7:00pm to 10:00pm

This is the 14th annual symposium organized by ASX and this year the theme is: "What Ifs: Is the Impossible, Possible?"

Observing from the city

City Star Party (first clear night)

Monday, January 30, 2017 to Thursday, February 2, 2017

Hover above the moon like an astronaut and get eye-to-eye with the planets. Find colourful stars, star clusters, bright nebulae and even another galaxy.

Solar Observing at the Ontario Science Centre by Katrina Ince

Solar Observing

Saturday, February 4, 2017 -
10:00am to 12:00pm

Join us at the Ontario Science Centre for our monthly Solar Observing on the TELUSCAPE observing pad. This is the area in front of the Science Centre's entrance. We use specialized telescopes that are safe to aim at the Sun.

Tyler Natoli

Speaker's Night: The South Polar Telescope

Wednesday, February 8, 2017 -
7:30pm to 9:30pm

Speaker: Dr. Tyler Natoli, Dunlap Institute for Astronomy & Astrophysics

Mike Dixon

RCIScience/RASC Lecture: Growing Food in Space

Thursday, March 2, 2017 -
7:00pm to 8:30pm

If humans hope to ever get to Mars or farther, we will need to be able to grow food in space.

Kid on the Moon team

Toronto Space Apps Challenge 2017

Friday, April 28, 2017 to Sunday, April 30, 2017

On the weekend of April 28-30, 2017, developers, makers, engineers and entrepreneurs will take on NASA-designed challenges, creating solutions that range from silly to serious, fantastical to feasible.

AstroCATS logo

AstroCATS 2017

Saturday, May 6, 2017 to Sunday, May 7, 2017

AstroCATS is a 2-day event featuring the largest commercial display and sale of telescopes and related astronomical products held in Canada.

Ottawa GA logo

2017 RASC General Assembly in Ottawa

Thursday, June 29, 2017 to Monday, July 3, 2017

Join the Ottawa Centre during Canada's 150th anniversary for the 2017 RASC General Assembly. See the GA website for more details.

Michael Daly
Video of RCIScience/RASC lecture from November 27, 2016